January 2013 Flier!

Breadline Flyer (1)

2 thoughts on “January 2013 Flier!

  1. Greg Thanks to you and the other breadliners for oganizing these. I was there last evening and heard some good stuff.

    I do have some feedback, however, which I mean as constructive. I read and listened to the open mic session, and it got progressively more difficult to hear, until I felt I was lony able to get about half of what was being read. It seemed that folks who had read at the open mic were heading to lobby (or just outside of the bar) and then talking at the top of their lungs to be heard over one another. Everyone I talked to said they could not hear all of my reading, and I have both a loud voice and was pushing the volume and had my mouth up to the mic. (I now know how musicians feel when they are competing with the crowd at a bar.) Shouting did seem to work for those who wanted to, but I would rather not read if I have to shout. Moreover, I would rather not ask others to read if I can’t hear all they are saying, and for several of the writers I heard last nght that was the case, even from my seat about 12 feet from the mic.

    It is a great venue and forum. When there has been just one thing happening at a time, it seems like it has been possible to listen to the works and hear everyhting that was said, even from the back.

    Keep up the good work

    Mark J

    On Thu, Dec 20, 2012 at 7:42 AM, the breadline performance series wrote:

    > ** > Greg Bem posted: “”

    • Hey Mark,

      Thanks for the honest feedback. So, the noise was quite interesting because it was unusual. Typically people in the back space have the space to perform and if people want to go be loud, they do it in the gallery space. And then if there is noise, when someone yells at the noise-makers to turn it down, they do, and it stays that way. I think that the primary reason this wasn’t the case this time was A) the sheer enormity of the crowd, and B) that the soundscape artists Kylmyys were playing in the front room. The hallway, and thus the back of the bar, ended up serving as a buffer zone and the conversations carried. It was unfortunate, but fortunately not typical. I encourage you to come out next month and see the difference–apologies for those who couldn’t hear your work. I was able to hear it and enjoyed what I heard.

      Also, I think that putting the open before the features was also detrimental because a lot of the people do only come to Breadline to see the featured acts, which is quite typical for most performance arts spaces.

      Feel free to email me any additional thoughts!

      Greg

Leave a Reply

